Skip to main content

Library Policies: Gifts

GIFTS POLICY

Photo of Stack of BooksThe LaChance Library encourages donations of books and other materials suitable for the library’s collection. Gifts are evaluated by the same criteria that are used for purchased materials. Not all gifts will be added to the collection.

CRITERIA FOR EVALUATING GIFTS

Specific considerations may include some or all of the following:

  • material is of a topic which falls within the scope of the collection
  • material is in excellent condition
  • material is timely and not out-of-date
  • the library does not already own duplicate material.
CRITERIA FOR FORMATS OTHER THAN BOOKS

Specific considerations may include some or all of the following:

  • materials does not require special facilities, control, or staffing in order to added to the collection
  • material does not require continuing obligations on the part of the library to keep the material up-to-date
  • gift periodicals are accepted only if the issue or issues fill an existing gap in the collection
  • gift subscriptions are accepted if the donor intends to continue the subscription and the subscription is approved by the Assistant Dean of Library and Academic Support Services.
STAFF MEMBERS WHO ACCEPT GIFTS

It is the donors' responsibility to review the criteria above before bringing any gift materials to the library. If there is any question about accepting a gift, the Assistant Dean of the Library and Academic Support Services will make the final decision. If possible, a phone call or email to the Assistant Dean of Library and Academic Support Services can help to establish an appropriate time to bring donations to the library.

Donations to the Library may be presented to the staff at the Circulation Desk. The library staff member will present the donor with a “Gift Form” which they can complete at the time of donation.

APPRAISAL POLICY

The library does not appraise donations accepted for inclusion in the collection for tax or other purposes. It is the responsibility of the donor to list the titles of the items, and affix a value if they require this information.

FINAL DISPOSITION OF MATERIALS NOT ADDED TO THE COLLECTION

Evaluated materials will be added to the collection if they meet the selection criteria for inclusion into the collection. Items not added to the collection will be discarded or recycled.

PLEASE CONTACT US IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS

Mount Wachusett Community College Home Page

Circulation Desk 978-630-9125 Email the Circulation Desk
Research Help Desk 978-630-9338 Email the Research Help Desk
Academic Support Center 978-630-9333 Email the Academic Support Center
LIVE CHAT ASSISTANCE is available during regular LIBRARY HOURS.