Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LaChance Library home Mount Wachusett Community College

Research Skills MOOC: MOOC Help

MOOC Problem Solver

Research Skills MOOC Problem Solver for Students

I registered, but I don’t see the Research Skills MOOC.

I forgot my password.

  • From the MOOC/CourseSites link, choose SIGN IN and FORGOT PASSWORD.
  • Choose EMAIL ADDRESS OPTION.
  • Check your email and follow directions to reset password.
  • If this doesn’t work, please email Ellen Pratt (epratt@mwcc.mass.edu).

I did the MOOC, but I can’t print the achievement.

  • Choose TOOLS from the left menu and then MY GRADES. Make sure you have completed everything. To earn the achievement, you need:
    • FYE 101 – 120 of a possible 150 points
    • ENG 101 – 384 of a possible 480 points
    • CIS 127 – 120 of a possible 150 points
    • Capstone Refresher – 168 of a possible 210 points
  • For ENG 101, make sure you have completed the PRE-TEST and the REFLECTION. They do not have point value, but are required for the achievement.
  • If you have used both quiz attempts for each module, print your grades and contact your instructor. Grades and quiz attempts cannot be changed or reset.

How can I tell if I have used both quiz attempts for a module?

  • Choose MY GRADES in the left menu. Click the GRADED tab for a list of quizzes you have taken. Click the quiz title to see the attempts.

How do I email my achievement to my professor?

  • Choose TOOLS from the left menu in the MOOC.
  • Choose ACHIEVEMENTS. On the right of the achievements are three small icons. Choose the third one, the print icon.
  • The Achievement Certificate will display in a pop up.
  • Click on PRINT CERTIFICATE (bottom left corner).
  • In the Print settings box change the DESTINATION to Save to PDF & click Save
  • In the Save As box, select a save location and enter a file name, then click Save

What if I have another kind of problem?

English 101 MOOC Checklist

ENG 101 Modules

ENG 101 Pre-Test

1.1     Introduction to the Library

1.2     Search the Library Catalog

2.1     Choose a Paper Topic

2.2     Ask a Research Question

2.3     Try a Mind Map

3.1     Sources of Information

3.2     Scholarly vs. Popular

3.3     What are Library Databases?

3.4     Library Database Searching I 

3.5     Library Database Searching II

4        Evaluate Information

5.1     What’s the Main Idea

5.2     Create a Thesis Statement

6.1     Cite Your Sources

6.3.    Issues & Controversies

6.4     Put It All Together

ENG 101 Research Skills Unit Reflection

The ACHIEVEMENT requires a score of 384 of 480 points on these modules.

CIS 127 MOOC Checklist

CIS 127 Modules

3.3   What are Library Databases?

3.4   Library Database Searching I

3.5   Library Database Searching II

3.6   Search with Boolean Operators

3.7   Use Google Well

The ACHIEVEMENT requires a score of 120 of 150 points on these modules.

FYE 101 MOOC Checklist

FYE 101 Modules

1.1   Introduction to the Library

1.2   Search the Library Catalog

3.1   Sources of Information

3.2   Scholarly vs. Popular

3.3   What are Library Databases?

The ACHIEVEMENT requires a score of 120 of 150 points on these modules.

Capstone Refresher MOOC Checklist

Capstone Refresher Modules

2.1   Choose a Paper Topic

2.2   Ask a Research Question

3.4   Library Database Searching I

3.5   Library Database Searching II

3.6   Search with Boolean Operators

5.2   Create a Thesis Statement

6.1   Cite Your Sources

6.5   Organize your EBSCO Database Articles

6.6   Save Your Search History

The ACHIEVEMENT requires a score of 168 of 210 points on these modules.

Please CONTACT US if you have questions.